The Resolution of Disputes Procedure has been established by Regulations made by the House of Bishops under Canon C 29. The first Independent Reviewer, Sir Philip Mawer, was succeeded in 2018 by Sir William Fittall.


Sir William is supported administratively by Mr Jonathan Neil-Smith, a senior member of staff in the Central Secretariat at Church House, Westminster. Information about the Independent Reviewer and his work, and the texts of the relevant documents, may be found here.


Questions and Answers about the Resolution of Disputes Procedure and the Independent Reviewer may be found here.